Indiana University Indiana University IU

Indiana Prevention Resource Center (IPRC)

Keep Rx Safe PSA Contest

Non-medical use of pain relievers is a growing problem for many Indiana youth. Currently Hoosiers aged 12-17 are using more than those in other Big Ten states. The Indiana Prevention Resource Center is aiming to reverse this trend by encouraging young people to participate in peer-education through such activities as the 2nd annual KeepRxSafe.com Video Public Service Announcement (PSA) Contest. This year more than 70 youth from all over Indiana participated in the contest. “Education on proper medication use is essential for health and wellness,” stated Dr. Daniel DeSalle, PSA contest judge.

The youth created 30-60 second video PSAs to address the growing issue of prescription drug abuse in Indiana. Each video shared a youth’s viewpoint on how to address the concern of prescription drug misuse. The top films were highly competitive, only separated by a few points. The panel of judges included a physician, pharmacist, television producers, a researcher and a student. “This contest was enlightening and insightful into young peoples’ thoughts on prescription drug use,” stated DeSalle. Evan Trout, of Fishers was the first place winner for this year’s contest. Evan’s 30-second PSA was entitled “ER visits”. Second place went to brothers Damon and Nathaniel Dryden of Jeffersonville for their film “Keep RX Safe”. Third place also went to a sibling duo, Gabriel and Jacob Wheeler of Bloomington who created the film “Prescription Drug Abuse”. The five teams with the winning videos received prize packages and every young person who participated received a certificate to show the IPRC’s appreciation for their participation in the contest and helping educate their peers. The top five films will be featured on the website www.keeprxsafe.com.

Special thanks to all of the prize sponsors including: Bloomington Hospital, Outback Steakhouse, Flip Video, Kroger, IU Auditorium, and Eastman Kodak.

By Mallori Desalle,   5/28/2010